Stephen Slade
Telephone: 01305 889411

parish header


Winterborne St Martin Parish Council meets on the 4th Monday every month, with exceptions for public holidays which may be arranged on alternative days and except for December when there is presently no scheduled meeting, at 19:00 in the Parish Office in Martinstown. Dates will be published on this site.

Councillors serve for a period of four years from the full Council election, the next of which will be held in May 2019. Where casual vacancies occur during this four year period an election can be held at the request of at least 10 electors or additional Members can be co-opted to ensure the Council has enough Members to undertake its responsibilities.

Councillors may hold additional roles of responsibility as nominated from time to time. The following matters within the Parish can be addressed with the listed councillors. Numbers to contact are listed on this page along with the e-mail address of the Parish Council.

Personnel Committee: Mr M Usherwood. Mrs D Wiltshire. Mrs A Bennett

Amenity Matters: All members as necessary and Mr S Slade
Footpath Matters: Mr D Read as Footpath Liaison Officer
Village Hall Representative: Mr P Jeffery
Blanchard Charity Trustees: Mr P Jeffery and Mr D Read
Flood Warden/Emergency Officer: Mr S Slade
Waste Watch Scheme: Mr D Read and Mr P Jeffery and Mrs A Bennett and Mr M Usherwood
Speed Watch Co-ordinator: Mrs D Wiltshire
Communications and Web-site/Transport Group Representative: TBC
PCSO Liaison: TBC
DAPTC Liaison: Mrs D Wiltshire and Mrs A Bennett and Mr M Usherwood

An agenda for an upcoming meeting will be published in the week preceding the meeting on this Web-site and on the notice boards in the village.

All meetings of the Parish Council are open to the public and each meeting starts with a democratic period giving people who attend the opportunity to raise any matters direct with the Parish Council.

Local planning matters are directed to the Parish Council via the Parish Clerk and considered at the regular meetings. You can view local planning matters at any time by accessing the Dorset for You site at the following link: PLANNING MATTERS. Enter ‘Martinstown’ in the Address box and select Search to view all of the latest planning matters.

Local footpaths come under the remit of the Parish Council and are regularly discussed at the meetings. To see a map of local Rights of Way then please select the following link. LOCAL FOOTPATHS MAP

Local amenities that the Parish Council has remit for are also covered at the regular meetings.

The Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer is Stephen Slade, The Smithy, Martinstown, Dorchester, DT2 9LD. Telephone 01305 889411. All correspondence for the Parish Council should be directed to Stephen Slade.

The Parish Council can now be contacted by e-mail on: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Local Government

The Parish is in the area of West Dorset District Council and Dorset County Council.

Our County Councillor is Jean Dunseith: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Tel: 01305 787557

Our District Councillor is Robert Freeman: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Tel: 01305 852877

Information about West Dorset District Council and Dorset County Council is available on the Dorset For You website here:

South Winterbourne Community Flood Action Group
A SELF HELP community group formed in October 2013 whose aim is to help lessen the impact of flooding in the beautiful South Winterbourne valley by co-ordinating the efforts of the village communities, riparian owners, parish councils and larger land owners/farmers to maintain the existing infrastructure in the best possible condition whilst observing and safeguarding the ecology and wildlife.

CLICK HERE to visit SWCFAG's website


Monday, 25 03 2019


Debbie Wiltshire

Tel: 01305 889610

Dave Read
Tel: 01305 889445

Neale Hallett
Tel: 01305 889835

Anne Bennett
Tel: 01305 889613

Patrick Jeffery
Tel: 01305 889322

Martin Usherwood
Tel: 01305 889117

Karen Delafield

Tel: 01305 889301

Richard Eversden


Council Meetings

The next meeting of the Parish Council is on: PLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF DATE AND VENUE

26 March 2019
at 7.00 pm

The Magna Housing Community Room, Manor Grove, Martinstown, Dorchester, 

Dorset DT2 9JD

Future meetings in 2019 will be held on:


29th April 2019

at 7:00 pm

The Old Reading Room, Martinstown, Dorchester

all start at 7.00 pm.

Further meeting dates are also listed periodically in the Valley and Valence magazine.

The Annual Parish meeting for 2019 will be announced at a later date.


The Personnel Committee will meet on


In the Reading Room, Martinstown

at 7:30 pm.